Brief Introduction to the Ye.T. Gaidar Institute for Economic Policy

The Ye.T. Gaidar Institute for Economic Policy is a scientific research and educational methodology center. It is a nonprofit organization legally established as a foundation.

One of the founders of the Institute is the Academy of National Economy under the Government of the Russian Federation (now - the Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration).

The Institute for Economic Policy of the Academy of National Economy and the Academy of Sciences of the USSR was established in 1990 and renamed as the Institute for the Economy in Transition (IEP) in 1992. Its creator and permanent Director, until December 2009, was Yegor Gaidar.

In 2010, on the IEP personnel’s initiative and pursuant to the RF President’s Decree, of 14 May 2010, No 601, the Institute was renamed as the Ye.T. Gaidar Institute for Economic Policy (or the Gaidar Institute).

Its supreme administrative body is the Academic Board consisting of the Institute’s researchers and representatives of the scientific community. The Academic Board determines the priority directions for the Institute’s research activity.

The Academic Board elects a standing collegial administrative body from among its members – the Board of Directors (for 5 years). The Board of Directors’ area of competence includes the supervision of the Institute’s financial and economic activity and staff recruitment policy.

The Board of Directors, by its decision, appoints for a period of 2 years an Executive Director who reports to the Academic Board and the Board of Directors.

The Academic Board approves the composition of the Board of Guardians which operates as a body for supervision and control over the Institute’s activities.

At present, the Institute’s Board of Directors consists of the following elected members: Sergey Prikhodko, Alexander Radygin, Sergey Sinelnikov-Murylev and Sergey Drobyshevsky. The Board of Guardians includes Aleksey Kudrin (Сhairman), German Gref and Anatoly Chubais. The current Chairman of the Academic Board, elected for a term of two years, is Alexander Radygin. The Institute’s Executive Director is Sergey Prikhodko.

International Advisory Board was set up in 2013. It includes Laurence Kotlikoff, Jack Goldstone, Seppo Remes, Jacob A. Frenkel and Kenneth S. Rogoff.

The Gaidar Institute research divisions are structured around five core areas: Macroeconomics and Finance (headed by Doctor of Economic Sciences Pavel Trunin); the Real Sector (Doctor of Economic Sciences Georgiy Idrisov); Institutional Development, Property and Corporate Governance (Doctor of Economic Sciences Alexander Radygin); Political Economy and Regional Development (Candidate of Economic Sciences Irina Starodubrovskaya); and Legal Research (Candidate of Juridical Sciences Anna Zolotareva).

The Institute currently employs around 140 research staff, including one full member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, ten doctors of sciences and thirty-nine candidates of sciences.

The Institute enjoys wide acclaim inside the international scientific community, and actively cooperates with various research and political-analytical centers both in Russia and abroad. They include the following institutions: in Europe – the University of Kiel (Germany), CASE (Poland), Pierre Mendes- France University (France); in Asia – the Taiwan Institute of Economic Research (Taiwan); in North America – the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University (USA), Stanford University (USA), the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA), the National Bureau of Economic Research (USA), Duke University (USA), the University of Maryland (USA), the University of California, Berkeley, and the University of California, Los Angeles (USA), York University (Canada), the University of Waterloo (Canada) and others.