The 2004 National Diploma Paper competition

In April 2004, the Institute for the Economy in Transition announced that the 2004 National Diploma Paper competition in economics would be conducted among the graduates of economic higher education institutions and the economic faculties of Russia’s higher education establishments.

Prizes "For the best diploma paper in economics" had been founded, which will be received by winners according to the competition results:
  • For the first place – Rb 20 thousand.
  • For the second place – one prize worth Rb 10 thousand.
  • For the third place – three prizes worth Rb 5 thousand each.

As many as 54 graduates (who defended, in 2004, their diploma papers in economics) of the following higher education institutions of Russia took part in the competition: Chelyabinsk State University, Kursk State Technical University, Russian State University for the Humanities, Moscow Economics and Finance Institute, Belgorod State Technologic University, Far East State University, The State University – Higher School of Economics, St. Petersburg State University, South-Ural State University, Penza State University, All-Russian State Tax Academy, Lobachevsky Nizhni Novgorod State University, Perm State University, Rostov State University, Omsk State University, Novosibirsk State University, Kuzbass State Technical University, Tyumen State Institute of World Economy, Ufa State Technical Institute of Petroleum, All-Russian Academy of External Trade, East Siberian State Technologic University, Baikal State University of the Economy and Right

To conduct the competition a commission had been appointed comprising:
Chairman - Dr. of Economic Sciences Ye. T. Gaidar,
Deputy Chairman - Academician R.M. Entov,
Academic Secretary – A.I. Yashin,
Members of Commission: Dr. of Economic Sciences V.A. Mau, Dr. of Economic Sciences A.D. Radygin, Dr. of Economic Sciences S.G. Sinelnikov-Murylev, Dr. of Economic Sciences E.V. Serova, Dr. of Economic Sciences A.V. Ulyukaev, Dr. of Economic Sciences S.V. Shishkin.

Having considered all the diploma papers submitted to the competition, the commission decided the following:
All the competition winners were awarded diplomas and cash bonuses.