The 2003 National Diploma Paper competition

In May 2003, the Institute for the Economy in Transition announced the conduct of an All-Russian Contest for the best diploma work on economics among the graduates of higher educational establishments in economics and economics departments of Russia's higher educational establishments.

Prizes "For the best diploma paper in economics" had been founded, which will be received by winners according to the competition results:
  • For the first place – Rb 20 thousand.
  • For the second place – one prize worth Rb 10 thousand.
  • For the third place – three prizes worth Rb 5 thousand each.

The contest involved 56 participants who had defended their diploma works on economics in the year 2003 when graduating from the following higher educational establishments: Voronezh State University, Kursk State Technological University, the State Land-Utilization University, the Moscow State Institute for International Relations (U) of the RF Foreign Ministry, the State University / Higher School of Economics, Vologda State Technological University, South-Urals State University, Plekbanov Russian Economics Academy, St Petersburg State Economics and Finance University, the Finance Academy of the RF Government, the Bashkirian State University, Kemerovo State University, the Volga Region’s P. A. Stolypin Academy of Public Service, the Togliatti State Institute of Service, Novosibirsk State University, Vladivostok State Economics and Service University, Kuzbass State Technological University, the Tiumen State Institute of World Economics, Control and Law, St Petersburg Polytechnical University, and the Russian School of Economics.

To conduct the competition a commission had been appointed comprising:
Chairman - Dr. of Economic Sciences Ye. T. Gaidar,
Deputy Chairman - Academician R.M. Entov,
Academic Secretary – A.I. Yashin,
Members of Commission: Dr. of Economic Sciences V.A. Mau, Dr. of Economic Sciences A.D. Radygin, Dr. of Economic Sciences S.G. Sinelnikov-Murylev, Dr. of Economic Sciences E.V. Serova, Dr. of Economic Sciences A.V. Ulyukaev, Dr. of Economic Sciences S.V. Shishkin.

Having considered all the diploma papers submitted to the competition, the commission decided the following:
All the competition winners were awarded diplomas and cash bonuses.