Days of Defeat and Victory

Дата публикации
Вторник, 12.09.2000

Yegor Gaidar

University of Washington Press

As the first post-Soviet prime minister of Russia and as one of the most ardent champions and architects of economic reform, the young economist won a place in Russia's postcommunist history but saw his name associated with reforms hated by many Russians. The policies promoted by Gaidar were a major cause of the Russian parliament's 1993 rebellion against Boris Yeltsin, which cost more than 150 people their lives. Thus the title of Gaidar's account of his experiences reflects not only Russia's political and economic fortunes but his own personal journey from economist to politician. The memoir begins with Gaidar's personal background and his rise as a prominent economist, followed by his unlikely entry into politics, his dismissal from Yeltsin's government, his subsequent return as deputy prime minister, and his formation of a political party, Russia's Democratic Choice. True to his reputation as a blunt and honest speaker, Gaidar recounts these dramatic events in a straightforward manner, constantly addressing the morality of decisions he and others have made in the name of progress for Russia. In the process, Gaidar opens a window onto the formidable challenges of introducing democratic and economic change in his native land.


(Full Texts available in Russian only)

 Preface; Chapter 1. Childhood
 Chapter 2. Getting My Bearings
 Chapter 3. Options and Forecasts
 Chapter 4. August of Ninety-one
 Chapter 5. On the Eve...
 Chapter 6. The First Step Is Always the Hardest
 Chapter 7. The Terrible Winter of Ninety-one
 Chapter 8. An Accurate Forecast
 Chapter 9 . Dismissal
 Chapter 10. Dvoevlastie
 Chapter 11. The Battle
 Chapter 12. Lost Opportunities
 Chapter 13. Democracy and Chechnya. Conclusion .


 Read an Excerpt from the first chapter

  • Hardcover: 312 pages ; Dimensions (in inches): 1.23 x 9.33 x 6.35
  • Publisher: University of Washington Press; (December 2000)
  • ISBN: 0295978236
  • Buy the book at

    Перейти к другим выпускам