In Q1 2017, for the first time after a 4-year 'pause', the index of investments in fixed assets moved into positive zone, with a growth rate of 102.3% relative to the previous year. The volume of investments in fixed assets in terms of share in GDP in Q1 2017 stayed approximately at its average recorded at the start of each year during the period 2014–2016.

The structure of sources of funding for investing in fixed assets in Q1 2017 demonstrated a shrinking share of companies' own resources, because they prefer to borrow capital on the market in order to optimize their spending opportunities. The share of bank loans as sources of funding for investment in fixed assets over January–March 2017 increased to 11.7% due to the growing share and volume of loans taken from foreign banks, which fully offset the decline, in absolute terms, of the volume of foreign investments. The situation became somewhat more complicated due to the surge of net capital outflow to $ 15.4bn in Q1 2017 vs. $ 8.8bn in Q1 2016.

As far as the composition of attracted funding invested in fixed assets is concerned, the role of budget sources somewhat altered: over the first 3 months of 2017, the share of government capital investment amounted to 0.9 of GDP, having slightly shrunk relative to the previous year.

In Q1 2017, after the long 'pause' of 2013–2016, the investment activity of big holding companies, joint-stock companies and financial and industrial groups with public stakes demonstrated a certain resurgence of growth, a phenomenon that reflects a gradual adaptation of businesses to the new conditions under which the economy is now functioning.

In response to changes in the level of personal incomes, the investment activity in the real estate market has been waning. In Q1 2017, the shrinkage, in absolute terms, of the volume of personal investment in shared construction projects translated into a decline in the total volume of funding available for the implementation of shared construction projects funded by organizations and the population. As seen by the period-end results of January–March 2017, the index of new housing units put on the market amounted to 84.2% relative to the corresponding period of the previous year. Meanwhile, the index of new housing units completed by individual contractors amounted to only 76.5% of its previous year's value.

The deepening decline in the building construction sector that occurred in early 2017 was quite predictable, as it was determined by the trends that had been visible over the previous 15 quarters. As indicated by the period-end results of January–March 2017, the construction work volume index amounted to 95.7% relative to the corresponding period of the previous year.

Overall across the Russian economy in Q1 2017, the volume of investment in the tradable sector amounted to 98.0% relative to the previous year, while that on investment in the non-tradable sector gained 3.0%. The changes that occurred in the structure of investments in fixed assets by type of economic activity were shaped by a slower growth rate of investments in fixed assets in industry alongside a deepening plunge of investment in building construction projects in manufacturing industries. A comparative analysis of the structure of investments by type of fixed assets points to a very low adaptation indices of domestically produced capital goods to the altering demand for them. In 2016 and early 2017, the recovery of a positive vector in the movement of imports of investment goods became one of the factors that pushed the index of investments in fixed assets into positive zone.

It should be noted that the structure of investments in the transport sector in its present form reduces the risks created by the historically determined disproportions in the development levels of different transport types. Another positive factor is the growth of investments in the retail and wholesale commodity distribution networks oriented to the future expansion of the domestic market. A promising factor, from the point of view of human capital improvement, has been growth of investments in information technologies, education, culture, sports, while the simultaneous shrinkage of investments in healthcare has given rise to some concerns.

In view of the period-end results of Q1 2017, if the existing conditions for funding investments in fixed assets capital are maintained, the share of government investment in GDP declines, and private investors continue to be active on a very modest scale, it can be expected that in 2017, the economy will demonstrate a stabilization of investments in fixed assets at the previous year's level, while the implementation of investments projects in the infrastructure and welfare sectors will produce positive effects.

Olga Izryadnova - Head of Structural Policy Department

В I кв. 2017 г. показатель объема инвестиций в основной капитал впервые после 4-летней паузы вышел в область положительных значений при темпе роста 102,3% к соответствующему показателю предыдущего года. Доля инвестиций в основной капитал в ВВП I кв. 2017 г. сохранилась примерно на уровне средних значений, характерных для начала года в период 2014–2016 гг.

Финансирование инвестиций в основной капитал в I кв. 2017 г. характеризовалось сокращением доли собственных средств предприятий, поскольку в целях оптимизации расходов предприятия предпочитают заимствовать капитал на рынке. Доля кредитов банков в источниках финансирования инвестиций в основной капитал в январе–марте 2017 г. повысилась до 11,7% за счет повышения доли и объемов кредитов иностранных банков, что полностью компенсировало абсолютное сокращение инвестиций из-за рубежа. Ситуация несколько осложнилась увеличением чистого вывоза капитала до 15,4 млрд долл. в I кв. 2017 г. против 8,8 млрд долл. в I кв. 2016 г.

В структуре привлеченных средств финансирования инвестиций в основной капитал наблюдалось изменение роли бюджетных средств: доля государственных капитальных вложений в первые 3 месяца 2017 г. составила 0,9% ВВП и немного снизилась по сравнению с предыдущим годом.

В I кв. 2017 г. после длительной паузы 2013–2016 гг. восстановился слабый рост инвестиционной активности крупных холдингов, акционерных компаний и финансово-промышленных групп с государственным участием, что отражает постепенную адаптацию бизнеса к новым условиям функционирования экономики.

С изменением уровня доходов населения фиксируется ослабление инвестиционной активности на рынке недвижимости. В I кв. 2017 г. абсолютное сокращение средств населения на долевое строительство определило уменьшение совокупных средств на долевое строительство организаций и населения. По итогам января–марта 2017 г. объем ввода жилой площади составил 84,2% от показателей аналогичного периода прошлого года. При этом объем ввода жилой площади индивидуальными застройщиками составил всего 76,5% от показателя годом ранее.

Усиление спада в строительном комплексе в начале текущего года было вполне предсказуемо и определялось тенденциями, действующим на протяжении последних 15 кварталов. По итогам января–марта 2017 г. объем работ в строительстве составил 95,7% от показателя аналогичного периода предыдущего года.

В целом по экономике в I кв. 2017 г. инвестиции в торгуемый сектор экономики составили 98,0% от показателя годом ранее при увеличении инвестиций в неторгуемом секторе на 3,0%. Изменения структуры инвестиций в основной капитал по видам экономической деятельности определялось снижением темпов инвестиций в основной капитал в промышленности при углублении спада строительно-инвестиционной активности в обрабатывающем производстве. Сравнительный анализ изменения структуры инвестиций по видам основных фондов показывает крайне низкие характеристики адаптации производства отечественных капитальных товаров к меняющемуся спросу. В 2016 г. – начале 2017 г. восстановление позитивной динамики импорта товаров инвестиционного назначения стало одним из факторов выхода динамики инвестиций в основной капитал в область положительных значений.

Следует отметить, что сложившаяся структура инвестиций в транспортный сектор снижает риски сложившихся в ретроспективе диспропорций развития по видам транспорта. Другим позитивным моментом является рост инвестиций в товаропроводящие системы розничной и оптовой торговли, ориентированный на будущее расширение внутреннего рынка. Перспективным с точки зрения повышения качества человеческого капитала является рост инвестиций в сфере информационных технологий, образования, культуры спорта, но одновременно настораживает сокращение инвестиций в здравоохранение.

С учетом итогов I кв. нынешнего года при сохранении сложившихся условий финансирования инвестиций в основной капитал, снижении доли государственных инвестиций в ВВП и сдержанном участии частных инвесторов в 2017 г. в целом по экономике можно ожидать стабилизации инвестиций в основной капитал на уровне предыдущего года при позитивном влиянии реализации инвестиционных проектов в инфраструктурном и социальном комплексах.

Ольга Изряднова – зав. лабораторией структурных проблем экономики